Stanley Cup Champions in the Salary Cap Era

Article Thumbnail

Ever since the NHL lockout of 2004-2005, the formula of building a Stanley Cup Champion has changed.


No longer can the richest NHL franchises buy a Stanley Cup winner. Teams now have to deal with new rules within the salary cap era.

The new Collective Bargaining Agreement (CBA) has changed the way organizations structure their franchises.

This infographic examines how Stanley Cup winning teams have been constructed since the cap was introduced.

This also proves how important the drafting process is to NHL teams success. 

The Edmonton Oilers recently won the NHL Lottery and will be picking first at the 2012 NHL Entry Draft. It will be the Oilers 3rd consecutive first overall pick. Will the Oilers be added to this list of Stanley Cup Champions in the salary cap era? Time will tell. 


Best NHL odds to win the 2012 Stanley Cup

Pittsburgh Penguins 4/1, New York Rangers 11/2, Vancouver Canucks 11/2

Image By Silver Oak Online Slots



blog comments powered by Disqus

Subscribe Here To Receive News, Updates
and Picks Sent Directly To Your Inbox
I agree to the .

Pick Archive




View all pro picks

Connect with